Article Summary: This article will help anyone looking for information pertaining to a real estate license in the state of Pennsylvania or anyone looking to become a real estate agent or realtor in Pennsylvania. Contents of this article may include information on real estate education, schools, training courses, continuing education, tests and exams, laws, license requirements, renewal information, forms and more..
Real Estate Commission functions under the Pennsylvania
Department of State's Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs. The
Bureau was established in 1963 to provide administrative services to the various
professional commissions. The main office of the Commission is in Harrisburg.
for a real estate salesperson license in Pennsylvania include being at least
18 years of age and having successfully completed four credits, or 60 hours, of approved
real estate education. Applicants who have a bachelor's degree with a major in real estate
from an accredited college or university may have the 60 hour requirement waived, and
those with a juris doctor degree from an accredited law school may also waive the
education requirement. Applicants who have some real estate courses at an accredited
school may receive some credit for these toward the salesperson requirement.
Applicants having a real estate broker license in another jurisdiction may be allowed
two education credits for each full year of active practice during the preceding ten year
period. All real estate courses need to have been completed within the ten years preceding
passing the real estate exams, and applicants must apply for their salesperson license
within three years of passing the real estate exams. All real estate salesperson
applicants need to be sponsored by a licensed Pennsylvania real estate broker who will be
overseeing their activities.
Pennsylvania Real Estate License
Get Your Pennsylvania Real Estate License! Fast and Fun with Online Exam Prep and Career Book! America’s Favorite Real Estate School RealEstateExpress.com.
for a real estate broker license
in Pennsylvania include being at last 21
years of age and having successfully completed the education requirement of 240 hours of
real estate education or 16 credits in real estate from a college or university.
Applicants must also have passed the real estate examinations.
Broker applicants must supply recommendations from one broker and two unrelated people
who own property in the county where the applicant has a place of business. If real estate
brokers have been inactive and non-renewed for more than five years, then they must
re-take the real estate examination. Licenses will not be issued to a post office box
number as brokers are required to have a physical location for doing business and the
Commission will do an office inspection prior to issuing the license. The office of a sole
proprietor must have a sign displayed outside which bears the office name exactly is it
appears on the license.
All real estate agent applicants must provide the Commission with a criminal background
check no older than 90 days. If an applicant has ever been convicted of a felony or
misdemeanor, including any drug law violation, full information needs to be provided to
The approved real estate schools for prelicensure are located
throughout the state. The approved
continuing education courses, and the real estate schools where they may be
taken, include many distance education and internet options.
The real estate exams in Pennsylvania are handled by PSI Examination Services, and the examination
fee is $56.00. Broker applicants pay an addition $40.00 for the review of their
qualifications before taking the examination.
The license fee for a real estate salesperson in Pennsylvania, for applications
submitted between June 1 of an even-numbered year through May 31 of an odd-numbered year,
is $131.00, plus $10.00 for the Recovery Fund Fee (unless previously paid). The license
fee for a salesperson for applications submitted between June 1 of an odd-numbered year
through May 31 of an even-numbered year is $83.00 plus the $10.00 Recovery Fund Fee. The
fees are non-refundable.
The license fee for an associate real estate broker or real estate broker in
Pennsylvania for applications submitted between June 1 of an odd-numbered year through
February 28 of an even-numbered year, is $83.00. The license fee for either the associate
broker or broker for applications submitted between March 1 of an even-numbered year
through May 31 of an odd-numbered year is $131.00. All fees are non-refundable.
All real estate agent licenses expire on May 31st of every even-numbered year. You may
renew a license during the preceding 2 or 3 months. Renewal fee for a salesperson or
associate broker license if $96.00 and for a broker license is $126.00. In order to renew
a license all agents must successfully complete 14 hours of approved continuing education
courses during each two-year license period. If a license has been on inactive status the
applicant must document having completed the 14 hours of continuing education. There is a
$5.00 per month late renewal fee.
Pennsylvania has reciprocal
licensure agreements with nine states., and is in negotiations with several
All Pennsylvania real estate forms and license information are
Real estate careers are strengthened by membership in the many organizations that provide
services for the professional agent. Organizations like the Pennsylvania
Association of Realtors, the National Association of Real Estate Brokers (NAREB),
and the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO).
The National Association of Realtors (NAR),
the world's largest professional association, assists many in locating real estate jobs
within the industry. These organizations are also excellent resources of real estate