Article Summary: This article will help anyone looking for information pertaining to a real estate license in the state of Oklahoma or anyone looking to become a real estate agent or realtor in Oklahoma. Contents of this article may include information on real estate education, schools, training courses, continuing education, tests and exams, laws, license requirements, renewal information, forms and more..
The mission of the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission is to
safeguard the public interest as it pertains to the real estate industry. The Oklahoma
Real Estate License Code and Rules is available online.
The requirements for all real estate agents in Oklahoma include being least 18 years of
age, and of good moral character. Each category of license has real estate education
requirements, and all applicants must successfully pass the appropriate real estate exams,
through an approved
The requirements for the Provisional Sales Associate (PSA) license in Oklahoma includes
successfully completing Part 1 of 90 clock hours of approved basic real estate
instruction. The applicant also needs to pass the real estate exams for the PSA license.
The provisional sales associate license is an entry level position under the supervision
of a real estate broker. All contractual agreements may be entered into by the PSA, must
be in the name of the supervising broker.
Oklahoma Real Estate License
Get Your Oklahoma Real Estate License! Fast and Fun with Online Exam Prep and Career Book! America’s Favorite Real Estate School RealEstateExpress.com.
After passing the state examinations and obtaining the provisional sales associate
license, the licensee needs to successfully complete an additional 45-clock hours of
approved post-licensing educational courses (Part II) during the first year of being
licensed. There are however no continuing education requirements for provisional sales
At the end of the first year the licensee may apply for a Sales Associate License by
submitting the application form and paying the fees. The sales associate license is the
same as the provisional sales associate license except that the sales associate does not
have to take the Part II 45-clock hours of real estate courses. Instead, the sales
associate needs to complete 12-clock hours of approved continuing education courses during
the license term, which is a three-year period. To receive the sales associate license the
applicant also needs to successfully pass the state real estate exams.
The requirements for a real estate broker license in Oklahoma include having at least two
years of active experience within the past five years, or its equivalent, as a provisional
sales associate or sales associate, and having successfully completed at least 90 clock
hours of approved, advanced real estate instruction. While some of the experience
requirement may be waived, none of the educational requirement may be waived.
Broker applicants must also successfully pass the examinations. Once licensed, the real
estate broker needs to complete 12 hours of approved continuing education courses,
consisting of four core subjects, during each three-year license term. Licensees with an
inactive license are not required to take the continuing education courses; however at the
time they do activate their license they will need to have taken the courses.
There are different
types of broker licenses that an applicant can obtain, and will be determined
by the business arrangement that the applicant is going to use.
All education courses may be taken from private schools, vo-tech schools, or
colleges/universities. Education courses need to be completed before applying for the
examinations. Lists of the approved real estate schools for prelicensure, post-licensure
and continuing education (http://www.orec.state.ok.us/educ1.html) are available online.
The State of Oklahoma has contracted with PSI Exams to administer real estate testing.
You can get for information on PSI’s website by clicking here.
The examination fee for the provisional sales associate and the sales associate is $60.00,
and the exam is three hours long. The fee for a broker examination is $75.00, and the exam
is six hours long. All examination fees are non-refundable. The exams are administered via
computer; however, for an additional $20.00 one may take a written examination. The
results of the real estate exams are valid for ninety days.
The original licensing, and active renewal fees for provisional sales associate and
sales associates are $75 and $165 respectively. Original licensing / active renewal
fees for brokers are $225.
For a complete list of fees, click here.
Oklahoma has reciprocity
agreements with eight other states in order to expedite the processing of
licenses. However, the Oklahoma requirements vary with each of these states. The education
department of the Oklahoma Commission can provide case-by-case information of these
Non-resident applicants from states where there is no reciprocity agreement may usually
receive an Oklahoma non-resident license if they have a minimum of two years active
experience during the prior five years, provide proof that they are in good standing in
their home state, file the necessary application forms and pay the fees.
You can locate Oklahoma
real estate forms for licensing and examinations online.
Real estate careers are strengthened by membership in the many organizations that provide
services for the professional agent. Organizations like the Oklahoma
Association of Realtors and the National
Association of Real Estate Brokers (NAREB) assist many in locating real
estate jobs within the industry. The Association
of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) and The National Association of Realtors (NAR),
the world's largest professional association, are excellent resources for real estate
education and professional enrichment.