Article Summary: This article will help anyone looking for information pertaining to a real estate license in the state of New Mexico or anyone looking to become a real estate agent or realtor in New Mexico. Contents of this article may include information on real estate education, schools, training courses, continuing education, tests and exams, laws, license requirements, renewal information, forms and more..


The New Mexico Real Estate Commission, with offices in Albuquerque, enforces the Real Estate License Law for the state.   New Mexico recognizes two real estate licenses: Associate Broker and Qualified Broker.

The requirements for an associate broker license in New Mexico include being at least 18 years of age and a legal resident of the United States.  Pre-licensing work can be done before the age of 18, but the age requirement for a license is 18.

 Associate Broker  applicants need to successfully complete 90 hours of approved classroom instruction within the three years preceding their application. 30 hours each of the following education is required:

  • Real Estate Principles and Practice
  • Real Estate Law
  • Broker Basics

 All applicants need to pass the real estate exams.



The requirements for a qualified real estate broker license in New Mexico include being at least 18 years of age and a legal resident of the United States. Those currently licensed in another state need to submit a certified license certificate or certified license history. All broker applicants need to meet one of the following experience and education requirements:

  1. The applicant must have been active as a New Mexico licensed Associate Broker for at least two of the preceding  five years and have successfully completed 120 hours of approved classroom real estate courses, including 30 hours each of the following:
  • Real Estate Principles and Practice
  • Real Estate Law
  • Broker Basics
  • Brokerage Office Administration
  1. Individuals who held a valid New Mexico real estate broker's license on or before December 31, 2005 shall have been actively engaged in the real estate business as an associate broker for at least two of the last five years immediately prior to making application for a New Mexico qualifying broker's license, and shall document completion of a 30-hour Brokerage Office Administration course designated by the commission
  2. Individuals who automatically became associate brokers on January 1, 2006 shall have been actively engaged in the real estate business as an associate broker for at least two of the last five years immediately prior to making application for a New Mexico qualifying broker's license, shall document completion of a 30-hour Brokerage Office Administration course designated by the commission, and shall pass a real estate broker's examination approved by the commission.

The approved real estate schools for both prelicensure and continuing education offer classroom courses, correspondence and distance education courses. The schools are conveniently located throughout the state.

The examination fees for either a associate broker or a broker are $95.00. This covers both the national portion of the exam and the state portion.  To see other fees, click here.

The license fee for a new 3-year license for either a broker or associate broker license is $240.00. The 3-year renewal fee for either an associate broker or broker is $240.00. All licenses are issued for three years.

For continuing education requirements,  all active and inactive associate brokers and qualifying brokers shall successfully complete 30 credit hours of continuing education in courses approved by the commission during each 3-year licensing cycle.

 The 30 continuing education hours must include the eight credit hour real estate commission mandatory course during each licensing cycle. Of the remaining 22 credit hours, 10 credit hours may be credited toward the continuing education requirement from approved training category courses. At least 12 credit hours must be taken from approved education category courses; however, all 22 credit hours may be taken from the list of commission-approved education category courses.

New Mexico has a Licensure Recognition with four other states: Georgia, Louisiana, Massachusetts, and Tennessee.

Many of the New Mexico real estate forms are available online for your convenience.

Real estate careers are strengthened by membership in the many organizations that provide services for the professional agent. Organizations like the Realtors Association of New Mexico and the National Association of Real Estate Brokers (NAREB) assist many in locating real estate jobs within the industry. The Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) and The National Association of Realtors (NAR), the world's largest professional association, are excellent resources for real estate education and professional enrichment.

New Mexico Real Estate Forms

New Mexico Reciprocity States

  • Most real estate forms can be obtained online. Ones listed below pertain to new salespersons and brokers.

 

  • Georgia
  • Louisiana
  • Massachusetts
  • Tennessee

(as of 2/23/2010)

New Mexico Approved Real Estate Schools Prelicensing and Postlicensing Education

Community Colleges

Central New Mexico Community College
Dona Ana Community College
New Mexico Junior College-Hobbs
Northern NM Community College
San Juan College
Santa Fe Community College

 

Private Schools

Academy of Real Estate (Las Cruces)
Commercial Association of Realtors (Albuquerque)
Greater Albuquerque Assoc. of Realtors (Albuquerque)
One Stop Real Estate Education Services (Placitas)
River Realty Education (Rio Rancho)
Ruidoso Board of Realtors (Ruidoso)
State Bar of New Mexico (Albuquerque)
Last Update:  3/1/2010
This list may not include all approved schools. Please visit the New Mexico Real Estate Commission website for the latest list of approved real estate schools .