Article Summary: This article will help anyone looking for information pertaining to a real estate license in the state of Minnesota or anyone looking to become a real estate agent or realtor in Minnesota. Contents of this article may include information on real estate education, schools, training courses, continuing education, tests and exams, laws, license requirements, renewal information, forms and more..
Department of Commerce regulates the real estate industry in the state and is
the licensing authority over approximately 25,000 real estate professionals. The office is
in St. Paul. Check out their real
The requirements for a real estate salesperson license in Minnesota include completing
3 prelicensing courses. Of these, Course 1 needs to be successfully passed before taking
the real estate exams, and Course 2 and Course 3 may be taken either before or after
passing the exams.
Applicants need to successfully pass both parts of the examinations and apply for their
license within one year from passing. If more than one year before applying for the exam,
the applicant must re-take Course 1 and then take the examinations again. All applicants
for the salesperson license need to be associated with a licensed Minnesota real estate
broker in order to maintain an active license. The application fee for the license is
$140. You can locate the salesperson
application form online.
The real estate licensing process in Minnesota is handled by PULSE. Information
on approved real estate schools can be found be clicking here.
Once licensed, the salesperson must successfully complete 30 hours of specific real
estate continuing education courses during the initial license period and during each
succeeding 24-month license period.
The requirements for a real estate broker license in Minnesota include successfully
completing the broker education course and having at least two years of real estate
salesperson experience during the five previous years, either in Minnesota or another
state with comparable requirements. A waiver of this experience can be obtained under some
circumstances. The waiver form needs to be submitted before taking the broker educational
course and broker examination. The
broker application is done online.
Brokers are required to maintain an interest-bearing trust account. A waiver form, if
applicable, needs to be attached to the application for the license.
The broker license fee of $220 needs to accompany the license application, and the
application needs to be filed within one year of successfully passing the broker
Broker licenses are issued for a two-year term and expire on June 30th. Once licensed,
the salesperson must successfully complete 30 hours of specific real estate continuing
education courses either as a student or as a lecturer, during the initial license period
and during each succeeding 24-month license period.
The approved Real Estate Schools for Prelicensure and courses are available online.
The real estate examinations are conducted electronically by Pulse Portal and you may register online
for your exams.
Minnesota has reciprocity agreements with seven other states. Minnesota does require
applicants from some of these states to take additional education courses or examinations.
All applicants, regardless of their home state, need to pay the regular Minnesota license
Real estate careers are strengthened by membership in the many organizations that
provide services for the professional agent. Those holding a real estate license usually
join organizations like the Minnesota Association of Realtors
and the National Association of Real Estate
Brokers (NAREB) assist many in locating real estate jobs within the industry.
The Association of Real Estate License Law
Officials (ARELLO) and The National
Association of Realtors (NAR), the world's largest professional association,
are excellent resources for real estate education and professional enrichment.