Article Summary: This article will help anyone looking for information pertaining to a real estate license in the state of Michigan or anyone looking to become a real estate agent or realtor in Michigan. Contents of this article may include information on real estate education, schools, training courses, continuing education, tests and exams, laws, license requirements, renewal information, forms and more..
The Michigan Department of Energy, Labor & Economic Growth oversees the Michigan
State Board of Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons. The offices of the
Board of Real Estate are in Lansing. The department currently oversees the practice
of approximately 42,419 real estate salespersons, 9,942 associate real estate brokers,
11,348 real estate brokers, and 716 branch offices.
for a real estate salesperson license in Michigan include being at least 18
years of age when applying. Applicants are required to successfully complete 40 hours of
approved prelicense courses at an approved real estate school
before taking the examination. Once licensed, the salesperson needs to complete 6 hours of
continuing education each year for a total of 18 hours the three year license renewal
period. No previous experience is required to apply for the salesperson license.
Applicants must successfully pass the real estate exams, be of good moral character, and
provide a letter of good standing from any other state that they have held a real estate
for a real estate broker license in Michigan include being at lest 18 years
of age and having at least three years full time experience as a real estate salesperson,
or the equivalent experience, and must be of good moral character.
Applicants for a real estate broker license
need to complete at least 90 hours of approved
real estate education courses within 36 months of applying for their license. Once
licensed, the licensee needs to complete at least 6 hours of continuing education each
year. Thus, during the regular three-year renewal period the licensee will need 18 hours
of courses. Individuals may be licensed as an individual broker, which denotes
operating as a sole proprietorship, or as an associate broker who qualifies as a broker
but is licensed to work under another broker.
There is no reciprocity between Michigan and any other states. All applicants must meet
the full Michigan requirements.
Approved prelicensure real estate course locations and the courses they offer can be
viewed online. Approved continuing education classroom schools are located throughout the
state, and you can also view approved online continuing education schools online.
The real estate examinations are administered electronically by PSI Exams
. Applicants receive
their score reports within two weeks of taking the exams.
For a list of Michigan real estate licenses fee, click here
The 3-year license fee for a new broker or associate broker is $143.00 and for a
salesperson is $88.00. The renewal fee for a broker or associate broker is $163.00 and for
a salesperson the fee is $108.00.
Both real estate broker licenses and salesperson licenses expire on October 31st. They are
valid for a three-year period. An agent may renew an agent license between November 1 and
December 30 by paying a late penalty in addition to the regular renewal fee. They may not
legally practice until the fees are paid and continuing education courses are completed.
Real estate careers are enhanced by membership in the many organizations that provide
services for the professional agent. Those holding a real estate license usually join
organizations like the Michigan Association of Realtors, the National Association of Real Estate Brokers
(NAREB), and the Association of Real Estate
License Law Officials
National Association of Realtors
(NAR), the world's largest professional
association, assists many in locating real estate jobs within the industry. These
organizations are also excellent resources for networking and real estate education.