Article Summary: This article will help anyone looking for information pertaining to a real estate license in the state of Georgia or anyone looking to become a real estate agent or realtor in Georgia. Contents of this article may include information on real estate education, schools, training courses, continuing education, tests and exams, laws, license requirements, renewal information, forms and more..
The Georgia Real Estate Commission
administers the license laws pertaining to all aspects of the real estate industry in
Georgia with the goal of protecting the public interest. The real estate license law
originally went into effect in 1926 with the most recent changes taking place in 1999. The
main office of the commission is in Atlanta.
The state of Georgia recognizes three types ore real estate licenses:
- if acting on behalf of a broker, a salesperson may perform any real estate brokerage
act that requires a real estate license in Georgia. In order to be active in real estate
brokerage, a salesperson must be affiliated with a sole proprietorship, a corporation, a
partnership, or a limited liability company that is also licensed as a broker.
- if acting on behalf of a broker, an associate broker may perform any real estate
brokerage act that requires a real estate license in Georgia. In order to be active in
real estate brokerage, an associate broker must be affiliated with a sole proprietorship,
a corporation, a partnership, or a limited liability company that is also licensed as a
a broker may perform any real estate brokerage act that requires a real estate license in
Georgia. Both individuals and firms may be licensed as brokers. In order to be active in
real estate brokerage, an individual licensed as a broker must be affiliated with a sole
proprietorship, a corporation, a partnership, or a limited liability company that is also
licensed as a broker.
The requirements to become a real estate salesperson in Georgia include being at least
18 years old for a real estate salesperson license and at least 21 years old for either
the broker license or the associate broker license. All applicants are required to be a
high school graduate or have a GED, and all must provide a Georgia Crime Information
Report (GCIC) that is not more than 60 days old. The fee for the GCIC is $25 and
applicants may obtain it from a local sheriff's office or police department. If the
applicant is required to make child support payments, these payments must be current.
Additional requirements to become a real estate salesperson in Georgia include needing
to either complete 75 hours of approved prelicensure real estate courses, or completing 10
quarter hours or 6 semester hours of approved education courses at an accredited college
or university. Adult education courses do not qualify. Within one year of becoming
licensed the salesperson needs to complete a 25-hour post-license course specified by the
Commission. Those with an inactive license also need to complete the post-license course.
Additional requirements to become a real estate associate broker or broker include
completing 60 hours of approved broker prelicensing courses, or completing 15 quarter
hours or 9 semester hours of approved real estate courses at an accredited college or
university. The applicant for the broker's license also needs to have three years of
active license experience as a real estate salesperson. This experience may be either in
Georgia or in another state.
The Georgia real estate schools are all approved for continuing
education courses. Some of them are approved for prelicensure courses, and some are
approved for post-licensing. All active licensees must complete at least 24 hours of continuing education
requirements every four years. The schools are located throughout the state for easy
You can access many of the Georgia real
estate forms online.
Georgia has a broad reciprocity arrangement. A nonresident real estate license may be
issued if the applicant has either leased or purchased a residence in Georgia and also
provides a copy of the Georgia Crime Information Report (GCIC) that is not more than 60
days old. The fee is $25 and the form may be obtained from a local sheriff's office or
police department. A certificate showing the history of one's education and examination in
the licensing jurisdiction needs to accompany the application. The applicant needs to be
currently licensed in good standing in that state. A current certified copy of any
disciplinary actions taken must also accompany your application in Georgia.
Florida is an exception to the nonresident license qualifications, because Florida does
not grant full reciprocity to Georgia licensees. Applicants from Florida must take and
pass the Georgia state portion of the examination, and also must provide an original
certification of license that is less than one year old from the Florida Real Estate
The license fees paid after passing the exam cover all fees due for the first four
years of licensure. For a salesperson license, the license fee is $170.00 if applied for
within three months from the date of taking the exam. The fee if applied for more than
three months after taking the exam, but less than twelve months, is $340.00. If the
salesperson's license is not applied for within twelve months, the applicant must re-take
If the salesperson license is to be held in an inactive status, the license fee still
must be paid. The fee for the real estate broker's license is $170.00. The
fees above cover all four years of licensure.
Real estate careers are strengthened by membership in the many organizations that
provide services for the industry. The professional holding a real estate license joins
with organizations like the Georgia Association of Realtors,
the National Association of Real Estate Brokers
(NAREB), and the Association of Real Estate License Law
Officials (ARELLO). The National
Association of Realtors (NAR), the world's largest professional association,
can help one locate real estate jobs in Georgia.