Article Summary: This article will help anyone looking for information pertaining to a real estate license in the state of Florida or anyone looking to become a real estate agent or realtor in Florida. Contents of this article may include information on real estate education, schools, training courses, continuing education, tests and exams, laws, license requirements, renewal information, forms and more..
A seven member Florida
Real Estate Commission (FREC) functions under The Florida State Department of
Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR),
Division of Real Estate. The commission is made up of five real estate
licensees that have each been licensees for at least five years, and two persons that have
never been licensees.
The Florida Real Estate Commission administers and enforces the real estate
laws of the state that affect all aspects of a Florida real estate license.
The requirements to become a real estate agent in Florida include being at least 18
years of age and having a high school diploma or its equivalent. Arrest and police history
needs to be provided, plus fingerprints that are no older than 60 days. Upon meeting the
Florida real estate education requirements, an applicant may apply for and take the states
real estate exams.
The applicant for a real estate sales associate license in Florida has to complete 63
classroom-hours covering required Florida real estate courses. Each course is valid for a
two year period. Those who have a permanent physical disability may qualify for
correspondence pre-licensing if unable to attend classroom courses. The holder of a sales
associate license also needs to fulfill a post-licensing education requirement.
Florida Real Estate License
Get Your Florida Real Estate License! Fast and Fun with Online Exam Prep and Career Book! America’s Favorite Real Estate School RealEstateExpress.com.
The applicant for the sales associate license must pass the Florida real estate exam
for sales associates with a grade of at least 75. After passing the exam the applicant
needs to submit DBPR RE-10
activate the license.
Information Booklet is a useful tool in preparing for the exam. The fee
to take the exam is $105. A sales associate must complete the 45-hour
post-licensing course, within the initial renewal period, prior to the
The applicant for a real estate broker license in Florida must already hold an active
sales associate license and have actively completed at least 12 months of real estate
experience during the 5 year period preceding his application. It is possible for this
experience to be in a different state. The applicant for a broker license must also
complete 72 classroom hours of specific Florida real estate courses. Each course is valid
for two years. Those who are disabled may qualify for a correspondence pre-licensing
Applicants need to pass the Florida real estate exams with a grade of at least 75.
After passing the exam the applicant needs to submit DBPR
RE-10 in order to activate their license. Once licensed, 60 classroom hours
of specific Florida real estate courses are required before the expiration of the initial
broker license. To apply for a broker license, the fee is $115.
Florida maintains mutual
recognition, or reciprocity agreements with nine other states. If an
applicant for a Florida real estate license is already licensed in one of these other
states, the applicant might be able to waive educational and examination requirements in
You can locate the Florida real estate agent forms
online. All license applications and
renewal applications are also available online.
There are dozens of Florida real estate schools, making the process of taking real
estate courses convenient. Distance education is also available online for Florida real estate education courses, and
also for real estate continuing education in Florida, under special circumstances.
Both Sales Associates and brokers are requited to complete 14 hours of continuing
education every two years after their first license renewal. Florida attorneys who
are members in good standing with the Florida Bar are exempt from the 14 hour continuing
education course but are not exempt from the 45-hour post licensing course.
You may renew a real estate license in Florida online, or by telephone (850-487-1395). When you pay the
appropriate renewal fees you are automatically affirming that you have completed the
required education courses. Education Certificates are not sent with the renewal.
Compliance with the education requirements is handled by taking a random audit of
individuals. For either a sales associate or broker to renew a real estate license in
Florida, the fee is $65.00. For a broker to renew a license the fee is $72.50. When you
are late renewing there is a $45 late fee.
Florida real estate careers are strengthened by membership in the many organizations
that provide real estate jobs for the industry. The professional holding a real estate
license joins with organizations like The Florida Association of Realtors
(FAR) which serves over 90,000 members and 10,000 member firms. The FAR has offices in
Tallahassee and Orlando.
Other organizations that an agent might connect with are the National Association of Real Estate Brokers
(NAREB) assist many in locating real estate jobs within the industry. The Association of Real Estate License Law Officials
(ARELLO) and The National Association of
Realtors (NAR), the world's largest professional association, are excellent
resources for real estate education and professional enrichment.