Article Summary: This article will help anyone looking for information pertaining to a real estate license in the state of Arkansas or anyone looking to become a real estate agent or realtor in Arkansas. Contents of this article may include information on real estate education, schools, training courses, continuing education, tests and exams, laws, license requirements, renewal information, forms and more..
The State of Arkansas Real Estate Commission (AREC) with
offices in Little Rock, Arkansas administers all aspects of the real estate licensing
industry. The main mission of the Commission is protecting the public interest.
The requirements to become a real estate agent in Arkansas include being at least 18
years of age. The Commission also requires a background check of all applicants to
determine if they are trustworthy, and each applicant is considered on a case-by-case
Applicants for a real estate salesperson license in Arkansas need to successfully
complete 60 classroom hours of approved pre-license real estate education, 30 of which
are classroom hours that must be in the basic principles of real estate. These
classes may be from an accredited postsecondary school or a private school authorized to
teach them. After obtaining the required real estate courses, the applicant must pass the
state examination and pay the required fees.
You can find a listing of the prelicense Arkansas real estate
schools online. There are many schools offering these approved real estate
Those desiring to obtain a real estate broker license in Arkansas need to have actively
held a salesperson license for 24 months within the previous 48 month period. Also, 60
hours of approved real estate prelicensure courses need to be satisfactorily completed
within the 36 months immediately preceding the date of the real estate exams. Applicants
for the real estate broker license must pass the broker exams and pay a license fee of
The Arkansas real estate exams are developed and administered by a national independent
testing company. The fee for the exam application is $50, with an additional exam fee of
$75 paid to the exam testing service, Pearson
VUE. There are five testing facilities throughout the state where an
applicant can take the examinations
The real estate education requirements include post-license education
for all new brokers and salespersons. Those holding a salesperson license are required to
complete 18 classroom hours within the first year of obtaining their license. Those
holding a broker license are required to complete 30 classroom hours within the first year
of obtaining their license. If the post-license requirement is not met, the licenses are
put on an inactive status. All real estate classes in Arkansas must be actual classroom
courses, not correspondence courses.
Applicants for a real estate salesperson license pay a license fee of $50.00 and a
Recovery Fund Fee of $25.00. The fees need to be paid within 90 days after passing the
real estate exams.
Applicants for a real estate broker license pay a license fee of $70 and a Recovery
Fund Fee of $25.00. These fees, also, must be paid within 90 days after passing the real
You can find some Arkansas real estate forms
online. The rest of the forms need to be obtained from the Real Estate Commission. Click
to see a list of Arkansas Real Estate related fees.
To renew a real estate license in Arkansas, those holding a real estate salesperson
license pay $50, and those holding a real estate broker license pay $70. Renewals are due
before September 30th of the current year, with a penalty for late renewal. Licenses
actually expire on the 31st of the current year. When an Arkansas real estate license has
expired, the Commission will usually allow reinstatement within three years from the
calendar year in which the license was last renewed.
Licenses for all real estate agents may also be kept in an inactive status at the Real
Estate Commission. To make the license active, six hours of Arkansas real estate courses
need to be completed, plus a $30.00 fee paid. A license may be kept inactive indefinitely
as long as the applicable renewal fees are paid.
Arkansas real estate careers are enhanced by membership in the Arkansas Realtors Association and the
National Association of Real Estate Brokers (NAREB).
The Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO)
and the Arkansas Chapter of the National
Association of Residential Property Managers offer excellent information
pertaining to real estate jobs in the state.
Arkansas Real Estate Forms
Arkansas Reciprocity States
- New York
- North Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
(as of 2/23/2010)
Arkansas Approved Real Estate Schools Prelicensing and Postlicensing
Arkansas Institute of Real Estate (Searcy)
Arkansas/Oklahoma School of Real Estate (Ft. Smith)
Fort Smith Regional School of Real Estate (Ft. Smith)
Kelton Schools (Jonesboro)
Professional Business Academy (Bella Vista)
Real Estate Education Center (Springdale)
River Valley Real Estate Licensing School (Russellville)
|Last Update: 3/1/2010
This list may not include all approved schools. Please visit the AREC website for the
latest list of approved real estate