Article Summary: This article will help anyone looking for information pertaining to a real estate license in the state of Alaska or anyone looking to become a real estate agent or realtor in Alaska. Contents of this article may include information on real estate education, schools, training courses, continuing education, tests and exams, laws, license requirements, renewal information, forms and more..


The State of Alaska Real Estate Commission, with offices in Anchorage, Alaska, is staffed by the Division of Occupational Licensing of the Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development. The Real Estate Commission adopts the regulations that govern those with an Alaska real estate agent license. They issue three types of licenses: a real estate salesperson license, a real estate broker license, and a real estate associate broker license.

A person holding a broker license either operates his own real estate business or acts as a broker for a partnership or corporation.

A person holding a salesperson license works in the office of a real estate broker as an employee or as an independent contractor.



A person holding a associate broker license has met the qualifications to be a broker but continues to work in association with another broker, rather than having a business of his/her own.

The requirements to become a real estate agent in Alaska, regardless of the license type, include passing the appropriate exam and applying for licensure within six months after passing the exam. Applicants must pay the appropriate fees and meet the appropriate educational requirements. Applicants may not be under indictment for any type of felony that implies character untrustworthiness. Applicants also will not be issued a license if they are not in substantial compliance with a child support order.

In addition, requirements to become a real estate salesperson in Alaska include being at least 19 years of age and working for a real estate broker licensed in Alaska. If the applicant was ever convicted of a felony, the complete sentence must have been served. To obtain an salesperson license the applicant must satisfactorily complete 40 classroom hours of approved real estate prelicensure courses.  Applicants must apply for licensure within six months after passing the exam.

The requirements to become a real estate broker in Alaska include the basics listed above for all agents, plus the broker applicant must have completed 15 classroom hours approved broker training.  The broker must have  been a licensed salesperson in 24 consecutive months within the last 36 months, and real estate must have been his/her principal occupation.

A person holding an broker license must either own a real estate business or work as the broker for a partnership or corporation. A person who has been convicted of a felony that implies character unworthiness will not be granted a license until seven years after the complete sentence has been served.

The requirements to become a real estate agent in Alaska as an Associate Broker include the basic ones listed above for all agents, plus those of a regular real estate broker, except that a corporation or partnership can have only one broker in charge. The second person who meets the qualifications to have a broker license is considered an associate broker. An associate broker must have passed the real estate exams and be associated with a licensed broker. If ever convicted of a felony that implies character unworthiness, the applicant will not be granted a license until five years after the complete sentence has been served.

The Alaska real estate exams are administered electronically. They are offered weekly in Anchorage, semi-monthly in Fairbanks, and quarterly in Juneau. The examination fee is $100. For a fee of $50 you can request that the exams be provided at a different location. The Alaska Real Estate Commission has contracted with Assessment Systems, Inc. (ASI) of Philadelphia to administer and grade the exams.

You can find all the real estate related forms online.

Applicants for an real estate salesperson license pay a nonrefundable application fee of $50.00, a License fee of $275.00, and a Surety Fund fee of $30.00, for a total of $355.00. The fee for a broker license is $350.00.

To renew a real estate license in Alaska, apply in January of even-numbered years.

Ten Alaska real estate schools are available both online and through correspondence. These are approved for all real estate courses and meet the education requirements for both pre-licensure and brokers. You can locate the continuing education catalog here.

Effective February 1, 2008 all new licensees are required to complete 30 hours of post-licensing education . This education is in addition to the 20 hours of continuing education that you will be required to complete prior to license renewal.

The Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) provides outstanding guidance to help all real estate professionals. Alaska real estate careers are enhanced by membership in the National Association of Realtors, and the National Association of Real Estate Brokers (NAREB). The National Association of Realtors, the world's largest professional association, is especially helpful in locating real estate jobs in Alaska for those interested.

Alaska Real Estate Forms

Alaska Reciprocity States

  • N/A
(as of 3/2/2010)

 
Alaska Approved Real Estate Schools
Prelicensing and Postlicensing Education

Community Colleges
N/A

Private Schools

Alaska Association of Realtors - Anchorage
Alaska Coastal Homes - Juneau
Alaska Real Estate Education - Wasilla
Alaska Real Estate Resource - Anchorage
Alaskarealestateschool.com  - Anchorage
Anchorage Board of Realtors - Anchorage
Charles Sandberg - Wasilla
Dynamic Properties - Anchorage
Northern Trust Academy - Anchorage
Prudential JW/Vista RE - Alaska
REAL Systems - Anchorage
Royse and Associates - Anchorage

Last Update:  2/22/2010
This list may not include all approved schools. Please visit here for the latest list of approved schools.