The Washington State Department of Financial
Institutions, oversees the regulation of mortgage professionals in
Washington. All Washington mortgage licenses are handled through the National Mortgage Licensing System.
Prelicensing requirements include approved courses that are 20 or more hours and contain 3
hours of Federal Law, 3 hours of Ethics, 2 hours of Non-traditional Mortgage Lending plus
12 or more hours of electives. This may be in addition to Washington-required content A
minimum of eight hours per year of continuing
education is required per year, per the SAFE act..
The licensing fee for NMLS for Loan
Originators is $194. The licensing fee for a broker
is $1,001. Click on the links in the preceding sentences for more details about each
Those who want to become a Mortgage Broker in Washington
are required to furnish a Surety Bond
(between $20,000 and $60,000 as determined by the loan volume). In lieu of a Surety Bond,
applicants may be approved to furnish an irrevocable letter of credit. Fingerprints also
need to be provided, and these are submitted to the NMLS.
Once Mortgage Brokers are licensed in Washington they must maintain a physical presence in
the state or within 30 miles of its borders. This requirement can be waived if the
applicant has at least two years of experience, or meets the educational requirements and
then passes a written examination.
The Washington Association of Mortgage Brokers (WAMB
), maintains an affiliate relationship with the National Association of Mortgage Brokers
(NAMB). The WAMB
provides ongoing educational courses for those planning to become a Mortgage Broker in
Washington Mortgage Forms
Washington Reciprocity States
(as of 2/23/2010)
Washington Approved Mortgage Schools Prelicensing and Postlicensing
Abacus Mortgage Training
|Last Update: 2/22/2010
This list may not include all approved schools. Please visit the Department of Financial Institutions website for the
latest list of approved schools.