Mortgage regulation and supervision in Utah are performed by the Utah Division of Real Estate, whose
offices are in Salt Lake City. All Utah mortgage licenses are handled through the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System.
Prelicensing requirements include approved courses that are 40 or more hours and contain 3
hours of Federal Law, 3 hours of Ethics, 2 hours of Non-traditional Mortgage Lending plus
32 or more hours of electives. This may be in addition to Utah-required content. A
minimum of eight hours per year of continuing
education is required nationally per year, per the SAFE act.
The licensing fee for NMLS for Loan
Originators is $187. The licensing fee for a Mortgage
Entity is $325. Click on the links in the preceding sentences for more details about
All Entities also need to have a Control Person (any individual who manages or controls
the Entity's mortgage transactions). When applying, a Surety Bond for $25,000 accompanies
Individual Mortgage Broker applicants in Utah must be 18 years of age and also provide a
Surety Bond for $25,000 with the application. Applicants must complete 20 hours of
pre-license education at an approved school
and pass the licensing exam before applying. If the applicant does not apply within
90 days of passing the exam the results are voided and a new examination must be taken.
The current licensing law pertains to any residential mortgage loan activity that is
either directed to or received within the State of Utah. Although no physical office is
required, all of the above requirements for licensing must be met by the applicant.
The Utah Association of
(UAMB), is an affiliate of The National
Association of Mortgage Brokers
(NAMB) . Both organizations focus on providing
information, education, representation and professional help for those who want to become
a Mortgage Broker in Utah and those already licensed.