Mortgage law is administered in North Dakota through the North Dakota Department of Financial Institutions, with offices in Bismarck.  As of April 30, 2009, all licensed Money Brokers are required to transition to the National Mortgage Licensing System.

All North Dakota mortgage licenses are handled through the National Mortgage Licensing System. Prelicensing requirements include approved Courses that are 20 or more hours and contain 3 hours of Federal Law, 3 hours of Ethics, 2 hours of Non-traditional Mortgage Lending plus 12 or more hours of electives. This may be in addition to North-Dakota-required content.   A minimum of eight hours per year of continuing education is required per year, per the SAFE act.

The licensing fee for NMLS for Loan Originators is $144. The licensing fee for a broker is $900. Click on the links in the preceding sentences for more details about each license.



Money brokers must provide an original money broker surety bond in the amount of $25,000 furnished by a surety company authorized to conduct business in North Dakota.

Money Brokers who function as Mortgage Brokers in North Dakota do not belong to the National Association of Mortgage Brokers (NAMB) .

North Dakota Mortgage Forms North Dakota Reciprocity States
N/A

(as of 3/1/2010)


North Dakota Approved Mortgage Schools Prelicensing and Postlicensing Education

Community Colleges

N/A

Private Schools

Abacus Mortgage Training
McKissock.com
TheMortgageTrainingCenter.com
Training Pro

(as of 3/1/2010)

Last Update:  3/1/2010
This list may not include all approved schools. Please visit the North Dakota Department of Financial Institutions website for the latest list of approved mortgage schools.