The Nebraska Department of Banking and Finance
(NDBF) regulates and supervises the licensing of Mortgage Bankers. In Nebraska the
licensees are referred to as Mortgage Bankers, and anyone who negotiates, acquires, sells,
or arranges for mortgage loans is required to be licensed.
All Nebraska mortgage licenses are handled through the National Mortgage Licensing System.
Prelicensing requirements include approved Courses that are 20 or more hours and contain 3
hours of Federal Law, 3 hours of Ethics, 2 hours of Non-traditional Mortgage Lending plus
12 or more hours of electives. This may be in addition to Nebraska-required content. Continuing Education
Requirements include at least eight hours of NMLS approved instruction.
The licensing fee for NMLS for Loan
Originators is $219, and the fee for Mortgage
Bankers is $500. Click on the link in the preceding sentence for more details
about each license.
Those who desire to become a Mortgage Broker in Nebraska provide a Surety Bond in the
amount of $100,000. Applicants also furnish a Resume reflecting the prior 10 years work
experience, plus financial statements that are not more than six months old.
Out-of-state mortgage brokers may also be licensed in Nebraska and are not required to
maintain a physical office within the state.
The Nebraska Association of Mortgage Brokers is an affiliate of the National Association of Mortgage Brokers
association is an excellent resource for those who desire to become a Mortgage Broker
Nebraska Mortgage Forms
Nebraska Reciprocity States
(as of 2/23/2010)
Nebraska Approved Mortgage Schools Prelicensing and Postlicensing
Abacus Mortgage Training
|Last Update: 2/22/2010
This list may not include all approved schools. Please visit the Department of Banking and Finance website for the
latest list of approved schools.