The Mortgage Lending
Division of the Mississippi
Department of Banking and Consumer Finance (DBCF), oversees the regulation of all
mortgage activity in the state, including the S.A.F.E Mortgage
licensing act of 2009.
All Mississippi mortgage licenses are handled through the National Mortgage Licensing System.
Prelicensing requirements include approved Courses that are 20 or more hours and contain 3
hours of Federal Law, 3 hours of Ethics, 2 hours of Non-traditional Mortgage Lending plus
12 or more hours of electives. This may be in addition to Mississippi-required
content. A minimum of eight hours per year of continuing
education is required per year, per the SAFE act.
The licensing fee for NMLS for Loan
Originators is $170. The licensing fee for a broker
is $851. Click on the links in the preceding sentences for more details about each
Applicants who wish to become a mortgage broker need to provide a $25,000 Surety Bond in
favor of the State of Mississippi. They need to provide either proof of having at least
two years experience in the mortgage lending business or take an examination. When
renewing a license, twelve hours of approved continuing education classes are required.
Applicants provide a set of fingerprints from any local law enforcement agency to be used
with a full criminal history investigation by the FBI.
The Mississippi Association of
(MAMB), is an affiliate of the National
Association of Mortgage Brokers
(NAMB). This organization provides the Code of Ethics
that all Mortgage Broker members in Mississippi adhere to. The NAMB is an important
resource to have as you become a Mortgage Broker.
Mississippi Mortgage Forms
Mississippi Reciprocity States
(as of 2/23/2010)
Mississippi Approved Mortgage Schools Prelicensing and Postlicensing
Abacus Mortgage Training
|Last Update: 3/1/2010
This list may not include all approved schools. Please visit the Mortgage Lending Division
website for the latest list of approved mortgage schools.