of Consumer and Mortgage Lending of the Office of
the State Bank Commissioner (OSBC) supervises all aspects of the Mortgage Broker
business in Kansas. A separate Mortgage Broker license is not required for negotiating
All Kansas mortgage licenses are handled through the National Mortgage Licensing System.
Prelicensing requirements include approved courses that are 20 or more hours and contain 3
hours of Federal Law, 3 hours of Ethics, 2 hours of Non-traditional Mortgage Lending plus
12 or more hours of electives. This may be in addition to Kansas-required content. A
minimum of eight hours per year of continuing
education is required per year, per the SAFE act.
The licensing fee for NMLS for Loan
is $194. The licensing fee for a broker
is $1,000. Click on the links in the preceding sentences for more details about each
A Bona Fide Office is one located in Kansas that is accessible to the public, has regular
hours of operation, and is not in a personal residence. Those Mortgage Broker applicants
who will have a Bona Fide Office in Kansas need to provide a $50,000 Surety Bond.
Mortgage Broker applicants who will not have a Bona Fide Office in Kansas must provide a
$100,000 Surety Bond, plus must submit proof in the form of audited financial statements
of having a minimum net worth of $50,000.
The Kansas Association of
(KAMB), is an affiliate of the National Association of Mortgage
). As residential real estate finance
professionals, the association members welcome helping you as you become a Mortgage Broker
Kansas Mortgage Forms
Kansas Reciprocity States
(as of 2/23/2010)
Kansas Approved Mortgage Schools Prelicensing and Postlicensing
Abacus Mortgage Training
|Last Update: 2/22/2010
This list may not include all approved schools. Please visit the Division of Consumer and
Mortgage Lending website for the latest list of approved schools.