The Idaho Department of Finance regulates and supervises the Idaho Residential Mortgage Practices Act on July 1, 2009 the new Idaho Residential Mortgage Practices Act (IRMPA). The IRMPA incorporates new licensing requirements mandated by the federal SAFE Act and also includes new requirements for mortgage loan modification companies. Particular attention should be made to the restriction on fee collection and related timing.  All Idaho mortgage licenses are handled through the National Mortgage Licensing System.

Pre-license education
requirements consist of: three hours instruction on ethics; three hours instruction on federal law and regulations; two hours instruction on lending standards for non-traditional mortgage products; two hours of Idaho law directly related to the IRMPA and Rules; and ten hours instruction on elective topics. All instruction must be approved by the NMLS. A minimum of eight hours per year of continuing education is required per year, per the SAFE act.

The licensing fee for NMLS for Loan Originators is $369. The licensing fee for a broker is $520. Click on the links in the preceding sentences for more details about each license.

Pre-license education and continuing education providers and courses for credit are now obtained solely through the National Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS). Please visit the "Professional Requirements" section after clicking here.

All licensed Mortgage brokers in the state of Idaho must maintain a physical location in the state to be able to conduct business.

The Idaho Association of Mortgage Brokers (IAMB), is an affiliate of the National Association of Mortgage Brokers (NAMB). The IAMB aims at providing professional training and education for all members and those who desire to become a Mortgage Broker in Idaho.

Idaho Mortgage Forms

Idaho Reciprocity States



(as of 2/23/2010)


Idaho Approved Mortgage Schools Prelicensing and Postlicensing Education

Community Colleges

Private Schools

Abacus Mortgage Training
Training Pro
Last Update:  2/22/2010
This list may not include all approved schools. Please visit the Idaho Department of Finance website for the latest list of approved schools.