The Georgia Department of
Banking and Finance, oversees all aspects of the regulations and activities of Mortgage
Brokers, Lenders and Originators in Georgia. A Mortgage Broker license
is required even if only one loan is brokered.
All Georgia mortgage licenses are handled through the National Mortgage Licensing System.
Prelicensing requirements include approved courses that are 20 or more hours and contain 3
hours of Federal Law, 3 hours of Ethics, 2 hours of Non-traditional Mortgage
Lending plus 12 or more hours of electives. This may be in addition to Georgia-required
content. A minimum of eight hours per year of continuing
education is required nationally per year, per the SAFE act.
The licensing fee for NMLS for Loan
is $169. The licensing fee for a broker
is $750. Click on the links in the preceding sentences for more details about each
Effective July 1, 1998, Georgia requires all Mortgage Brokers licensed out of state to
have a physical location within the state of Georgia. This location may not be just a post
office box or mail/message delivery spot, and must be staffed by at least one supervised
employee. However, if your home state is a state other than Georgia, you may still obtain
a Georgia Mortgage Broker license if your home state does not require a physical place of
business in it.
The Georgia Association of Mortgage Brokers
is an affiliate member of the National Association of
(NAMB) , formed a sister organization in 2001. The Georgia
Association of Mortgage Brokers Educational Foundation (GAMBEF) provides educational and
certification courses for existing Mortgage Brokers and for those who desire to become a
Mortgage Broker in Georgia.
Georgia Mortgage Forms
Georgia Reciprocity States
(as of 2/23/2010)
Georgia Approved Mortgage Schools Prelicensing and Postlicensing
Abacus Mortgage Training
|Last Update: 2/22/2010
This list may not include all approved schools. Please visit the Mortgage
Brokers, Lenders and Originators page of the GDBF website for the latest list of