In Delaware the Office of the State Bank Commissioner, whose offices are located in Dover handles all aspects of the Mortgage Broker License. To become a Mortgage Broker in Delaware you do not need to reside in the state, but may designate an individual resident in the state or another business that is authorized to transact business to be your registered agent. The registered agent must be located in Delaware.

All Delaware mortgage licenses are handled through the National Mortgage Licensing System. Prelicensing requirements include approved courses that are 20 or more hours and contain 3 hours of Federal Law, 3 hours of Ethics, 2 hours of Non-traditional Mortgage Lending plus 12 or more hours of electives. This may be in addition to Delaware-required content. Continuing Education Requirements include at least eight hours of NMLS approved instruction.

The licensing fee for NMLS for Loan Originators is $319.  Check the NMLS website for details on mortgage broker requirements.  As of 4/1/2010, they were unavailable on the NMLS website.  You can find the pre-NMLS broker license application here.

At time of approval you will be charged an additional $250 license approval fee which will be paid directly to the Office of the State Bank Commissioner. This fee will be required annually. All  Delaware licensed mortgage loan originators will be subject to an annual $500 supervisory assessment, which will be billed by the Office of the State Bank Commissioner in July of each year.

Delaware licensed lenders are required to provide a surety bond, and the amounts vary depending on the volume of business they do.  The range in coverage is $50,000 to $200,000.

The Delaware Mortgage Broker Association is an affiliate of the National Association of  Mortgage Brokers (NAMB).

Delaware Mortgage Forms

Delaware Reciprocity States


(as of 2/23/2010)


Delaware Approved Mortgage Schools Prelicensing and Postlicensing Education

Community Colleges

Private Schools

Abacus Mortgage Training
Training Pro
Last Update:  2/22/2010
This list may not include all approved schools. Please visit the Office of the State Bank Commissioner website for the latest list of approved schools.