The Division of Securities of the
Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies supervises what regulations there are
pertaining to those who desire to become a Mortgage Broker in Colorado.
All Colorado mortgage licenses are handled through the National Mortgage Licensing System.
Prelicensing requirements include approved courses that are 20 or more hours and contain 3
hours of Federal Law, 3 hours of Ethics, 2 hours of Non-traditional Mortgage Lending plus
12 or more hours of electives. This may be in addition to Colorado-required content. Continuing
Education Requirements include at least eight hours of NMLS approved instruction.
The licensing fee for NMLS for Loan
is $444. Click on the link in the preceding sentence for more
details about each license, and check with either the NMLS or Division of Securities
websites for info on broker licensing.
The Colorado Association of Mortgage Brokers
founded in 1983 as a non-profit trade association assisting independent real estate
financing professionals to offer superior expertise and service in originating residential
and/or commercial mortgages. The CAMB is an affiliate of the National Association of Mortgage Brokers
provides educational help for those working as a Mortgage Broker in Colorado
CAMB has consistently promoted legislation that would lead to licensing of those who want
to become a Mortgage Broker in Colorado, but so far no legislation has been passed.
Colorado Mortgage Forms
Colorado Reciprocity States
(as of 2/23/2010)
Colorado Approved Mortgage Schools Prelicensing and Postlicensing
Abacus Mortgage Training
|Last Update: 2/22/2010
This list may not include all approved schools. Please visit the Division of
Securities website for the latest list of approved schools.