Regulation in the State of Alaska is administered by the Department of Banking Securities,
which enforces the Alaska Mortgage Lending Regulation Act.
All Alaska mortgage licenses are handled through the National Mortgage Licensing System.
Prelicensing requirements include approved courses that are 20 or more hours and contain 3
hours of Federal Law, 3 hours of Ethics, 2 hours of Non-traditional Mortgage Lending
plus 12 or more hours of electives. A passing score on the national exam as well as
criminal background check is required. Brokers must carry a surety bond
in the amount of $25,000. A minimum of eight hours per year of continuing
education is required per year, per the SAFE act.
The licensing fee for NMLS for Loan
is $969. The registration fee for a broker
is $20. Click on the links in the preceding sentences for more details about each license.
Once licensing is complete, eight hours of continuing education will be required.
Before November 5, 2010, the state portion of the test will be administered through Pearson Vue
. After November 5, 2010, the state
portion of the test will be administered through the NMLS
Those with a Mortgage Broker career doing business in Alaska do have an affiliate
association with the National Association of Mortgage
. However, the Alaska group does not maintain a separate web site. The NAMB is
an important resource to have as you become a Mortgage Broker in Alaska.
Alaska Mortgage Forms
Alaska Reciprocity States
(as of 2/23/2010)
Alaska Approved Mortgage Schools Prelicensing and Postlicensing
Abacus Mortgage Training
|Last Update: 2/22/2010
This list may not include all approved schools. Please visit the Alaska Mortgage
Licensing website for the latest list of approved schools.