Mortgage Regulation in the State of Alaska is administered by the Department of Banking Securities, which enforces the Alaska Mortgage Lending Regulation Act.

All Alaska mortgage licenses are handled through the National Mortgage Licensing System. Prelicensing requirements include approved courses that are 20 or more hours and contain 3 hours  of Federal Law, 3 hours of Ethics, 2 hours of Non-traditional Mortgage Lending plus 12 or more hours of electives. A passing score on the national exam as well as criminal background check is required. Brokers must carry a surety bond in the amount of $25,000.  A minimum of eight hours per year of continuing education is required per year, per the SAFE act.

The licensing fee for NMLS for Loan Originators is $969. The registration fee for a broker is $20. Click on the links in the preceding sentences for more details about each license.

Once licensing is complete, eight hours of continuing education will be required.

Before November 5, 2010, the state portion of the test will be administered through Pearson Vue.  After November 5, 2010, the state portion of the test will be administered through the NMLS.

Those with a Mortgage Broker career doing business in Alaska do have an affiliate association with the National Association of Mortgage Brokers . However, the Alaska group does not maintain a separate web site. The NAMB is an important resource to have as you become a Mortgage Broker in Alaska.

Alaska Mortgage Forms

Alaska Reciprocity States


(as of 2/23/2010)

Alaska Approved Mortgage Schools Prelicensing and Postlicensing Education

Community Colleges

Private Schools

Abacus Mortgage Training
Training Pro
Last Update:  2/22/2010
This list may not include all approved schools. Please visit the Alaska Mortgage Licensing website for the latest list of approved schools.